Skip to content
19+18+ AB · MB · QC · Problem gambling help: ConnexOntario 1-866-531-2600About the deskHow we are funded

Winning a big lottery prize in Canada: claim deadlines, publicity, anonymity

Lottery

Last checked: · CasinoReporters desk

A big Lotto Max or Lotto 6/49 win in Canada is tax-free, but it is rarely private. Each regional lottery corporation sets its own claim process, and most make publication of your name, home town and photo a condition of paying a large prize. You generally have one year from the draw date to claim, and the rules on where and how depend on where the ticket was bought.

On this page8 sections
  1. Which lottery corporation pays your prize?
  2. Can you stay anonymous?
  3. What changed at OLG in 2026?
  4. How do group wins work?
  5. What documents do you need to claim?
  6. Do you pay tax on a lottery prize?
  7. Are there age limits for claiming?
  8. Frequently asked questions

Which lottery corporation pays your prize?

Lottery tickets clipped on a vendor’s stand at a street stall
Lottery tickets on a stall: the winner’s name is what the lottery wants to print. Photo: Daibo Taku · CC BY 3.0

Lotto Max and Lotto 6/49 are national games, but the prize is paid by the regional corporation that sold the ticket. BCLC's FAQ says prizes must be claimed in the jurisdiction where the ticket was purchased. So a ticket bought in Banff is claimed through the Western Canada Lottery Corporation (WCLC) even if you live in Vancouver, and a ticket bought in Gatineau goes to Loto-Québec even if you live in Ottawa.

That matters because the five corporations do not share one rulebook. Their claim deadlines line up, but their publicity terms, claim offices and online options differ:

Corporation (where the ticket was sold)Claim deadline for draw gamesWhere large prizes are claimedWhat is published about winners
OLG (Ontario)One year from the draw dateBy mail (any amount, 6 to 8 weeks) or at the OLG Prize Centre by appointment; under C$1,000 at a retailerWinners of C$1,000 or more listed on OLG.ca for 30 days; for C$10,000 or more, name, town or city, prize, game and a current photograph
BCLC (British Columbia)Up to one year from the draw dateC$25,000 or more at BCLC's Kamloops or Vancouver office, with a photo and interviewWritten consent to publish required; may include name, city, photograph, prize details and a quote; never age or address
Loto-Québec (Quebec)One year from the draw dateHead office in Montréal by appointment, by mail (about 20 business days), or online for C$600.01 to C$50,000Not stated on the prize claim page
WCLC (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and the North)Within one year of the draw datePrize offices in St. Albert, Calgary, Saskatoon, Regina, Winnipeg and Yellowknife, or by mail to head officePayment conditional on the right to publish name, city or town and a recent photograph; interview and photo for C$10,000 or more
ALC (Atlantic provinces)One year from the draw dateC$250 to C$24,999 at Scotiabank branches in Atlantic Canada or the Moncton head office; C$25,000 or more by calling 1-800-561-3942Names, home towns, amounts and photographs publicized for one year from the claim; more only with written consent

Instant tickets can follow different rules from draw games. BCLC's FAQ, for example, says Instant tickets must be claimed by their expiry date rather than within a year of a draw.

Can you stay anonymous?

Almost never, and nowhere as of right.

OLG. Its prize claim form, in the version effective May 2023, says OLG publishes the name, town or city, prize amount and game of winners of C$10,000 or more, along with a current photograph. In a 2023 report by CP24, an OLG spokesperson said anonymity had been granted only a few times, in cases such as a battered spouse, undercover law enforcement or a potential risk of harm, and that such requests are made by a lawyer contacting OLG. The same report said disguises such as wigs and sunglasses are not accepted for the photo, though face masks are permitted.

BCLC. Its publicity page says anonymity requests are considered case by case and granted rarely, and that a prize may be withheld if the winner does not give written consent to publication. BCLC's policy lists what it may publish, including name, city, photograph, prize details, the winner's story, occupation, employer, marital status and a quote, and what it never publishes: age, address or contact details, and information about third parties. It can publish winner information for up to two years from the first public announcement.

WCLC. Its FAQ says WCLC is under no obligation to pay a prize unless the winner grants the right to publish their name, city or town and a recent photograph. The FAQ does not describe an anonymity option.

ALC. Its publicity policy says winners' names, home towns, amounts and photographs are publicized for one year from the claim date, that anything beyond that needs the winner's express written consent, and that winners are told in advance. Its claiming page makes allowing publication of full name, city, province, amount, game and a current photograph a condition for prizes of C$25,000 or more.

Loto-Québec. Its prize claim page sets out deadlines, documents and claim channels but does not state a publicity or anonymity rule, so ask at the appointment before you sign anything.

What changed at OLG in 2026?

In May 2026, CP24 reported that OLG had stopped putting winners' last names in its news releases, using first name and last initial instead. The full names of winners of C$1,000 or more stay on OLG.ca for 30 days, as before. The reasons given were that news releases stay online permanently and that published names were being used in scams, and OLG said it works with Meta to take down fake social media accounts impersonating winners.

The 30-day window on OLG.ca is unchanged. If you win in Ontario, expect your full name to be publicly searchable for that period, and your first name, last initial and town to remain in any release afterward.

How do group wins work?

The group rules published by OLG, WCLC, Loto-Québec and ALC all want the group documented before the money moves.

  • OLG requires a Group List signed by every member.
  • WCLC issues one cheque per ticket to a maximum of two people; larger groups are paid to a trustee, and WCLC offers a Group Buying Agreement form.
  • Loto-Québec asks for "Group of X people" to be written on the ticket and a Group Play Agreement, plus a claim form and ID for each member whose share is C$2,000 or more. Group prizes cannot be claimed online.
  • ALC uses a Group Win Agreement.

The simplest protection is to fill in the corporation's group form when the group buys tickets, not after a win. A signed agreement made before the draw is far harder to dispute than one assembled afterward.

What documents do you need to claim?

The common thread is the original winning ticket and photo identification. The details differ by corporation:

  • OLG mail claims need a photocopy of your photo ID with the claim form.
  • ALC asks for proof of identification, and online prizes up to C$24,999 are deposited into the player's online account.
  • Loto-Québec's online claim is for a sole owner only, and pays by Interac transfer within 48 business hours or by cheque within up to 20 business days. If you claim online, Loto-Québec says to keep the ticket for 12 months.
  • For prizes paid at a claim office, expect an interview, a photo and the publicity consent described above.

Book before you travel. OLG's FAQ gives 1-800-387-0098 for Prize Centre appointments, and Loto-Québec's head office in Montréal sees prize winners by appointment through 1-866-611-5686. ALC asks winners of C$25,000 or more to call 1-800-561-3942 first.

Keep the ticket somewhere safe and take a photo of both sides as soon as you know it has won. Mailing a ticket worth a large sum is allowed at OLG for any amount, but a claim office appointment keeps the ticket in your hands until it is handed over.

Do you pay tax on a lottery prize?

No. The CRA lists lottery winnings among amounts that are not taxed or reported, whatever their size. The exceptions are winnings that are really employment or business income, or prizes received for an achievement in your field. WCLC's FAQ says all cash and merchandise prizes it pays are tax-free within Canada, and OLG's FAQ says that, generally speaking, lottery wins in Ontario are not taxed.

What is taxed is what the money earns afterward. The CRA says on the same page that interest earned on invested winnings must be reported, like any other investment income. BCLC's FAQ adds that annuity-style prizes or claims involving another jurisdiction can be treated differently. If you are a US resident or plan to move, take advice before claiming. For gambling income that the CRA does treat as taxable, see our article on gambling winnings tax in Canada.

Are there age limits for claiming?

Yes, and they follow the lottery age, not the casino age. OLG's FAQ sets the lottery age in Ontario at 18, WCLC's FAQ says 18, and Loto-Québec does not pay prizes to people under 18. That is lower than the 19 required for casino play in several provinces, which the AGCO's Ontario standards also reflect: someone aged 18 may use an Ontario gaming site solely to buy lottery tickets. The full province-by-province picture is in our guide to gambling age by province.

Frequently asked questions

Can I claim a Lotto Max prize in my home province if I bought the ticket elsewhere?

No. BCLC's FAQ says prizes must be claimed in the jurisdiction where the ticket was purchased. You deal with the corporation that sold it, by mail or in person at its offices.

What happens if I miss the one-year deadline?

Each corporation sets the one-year limit in its own rules, and none of the claim pages cited here describes a route for late claims. Check your tickets after each draw, or register them through an online account where the corporation offers one.

Can a lawyer or trust claim the prize to keep my name out of the news?

Not as a routine option. OLG's spokesperson described anonymity requests, made through a lawyer, being granted only a few times for safety reasons. WCLC's FAQ makes publication a condition of payment, and BCLC can withhold a prize without consent.

How long does OLG take to pay a mailed claim?

OLG's FAQ says mail claims take 6 to 8 weeks to process. Larger prizes are usually handled at the Prize Centre by appointment instead.

Sources

  1. OLG, Winners FAQ
  2. OLG, Prize Claim Declaration Form (effective May 2023)
  3. CP24, Last name of lottery winners will no longer be included in OLG news releases (May 4, 2026)
  4. CP24, Can you claim a winning lottery ticket in Ontario anonymously? (June 28, 2023)
  5. BCLC, Publicizing lottery winners
  6. BCLC, Publishing winner information policy
  7. BCLC, Lottery FAQs
  8. Loto-Québec, Prize claims
  9. Loto-Québec, FAQ on online prize claims
  10. WCLC, FAQ
  11. WCLC, Claiming a prize
  12. Atlantic Lottery, Winners publicity policy
  13. Atlantic Lottery, Claiming your prize
  14. Canada Revenue Agency, Amounts that are not reported or taxed
  15. AGCO Registrar's Standards for Internet Gaming, Eligibility (3.01)

How we are fundedIf you sign up through a link, we may earn a commission; it has no effect on the review.19+Help: ConnexOntario 1-866-531-2600

Read next